IMEMS - Georgia Tech
Important Links
Dr. Farrokh Ayazi FARROKH AYAZI  

Farrokh Ayazi is the Ken Byers Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta, GA, and the director of the Georgia Tech Center for MEMS and Microsystems Technologies (CMMT). He received the B.S. degree in electrical engineering from the University of Tehran in 1994, and the M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in electrical engineering from the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, in 1997 and 2000, respectively. His main research interest lies in the area of Integrated Micro and Nano Electro Mechanical Systems (MEMS and NEMS), with a focus on micro and nano mechanical resonators, and mixed-signal interface circuits for MEMS and sensors.

Dr. Ayazi is an editor for the IEEE Transactions on Electron Devices and a past editor for the IEEE/ASME Journal of Microelectromechanical Systems. He is a 2004 recipient of the National Science Foundation CAREER Award and has received the Outstanding Junior Faculty Member Award and the Richard M. Bass/Eta Kappa Nu Outstanding Teacher Award from the School of ECE at Georgia Tech. The author of over 200 refereed technical and scientific articles, Dr. Ayazi and his students have received several best paper awards at International conferences including MEMS, Transducers, Sensors, and Frequency Control Symposium. He served on the technical program committee of the IEEE International Solid State Circuits Conference (ISSCC) for six years (2004-2009). He was the chairman of the Display, Sensors and MEMS (DSM) sub-committee at the IEEE International Electron Devices Meeting (IEDM 2011).

In 2008, he co-founded and became the CTO of Qualtré, a spinout company of his research lab that develops bulk acoustic wave gyroscopes and motion sensors for personal navigation systems. Dr. Ayazi is a fellow of IEEE and holds 42 patents in the area of MEMS and microsystems. He was the general chair of the IEEE Micro-Electro-Mechanical-Systems (MEMS) conference in 2014, held in San Francisco, CA.



Awards and Distinction
2013-Present Fellow, IEEE
2012-Present Editor, IEEE Transactions on Electron Devices
2005-2013 Editor, IEEE/ASME Journal of Microelectromechanical Systems
2013 Best Paper Award, MEMS 2013
2011 Best Paper Award, Transducers
2010 Best Paper Award, IEEE IFCS
2008 Roger P. Webb Outstanding Junior Faculty Member Award
2007 Best Paper Award, IEEE Sensors
2004 NSF CAREER Award
2004 Richard M. Bass/Eta Kappa Nu Outstanding Teacher Award (detemined by the vote of the ECE senior class)
2001-2002 Georgia Tech College of Engineering Cutting Edge Research Award
Home    |   Georgia Institute of Technology    |  ECE Home  
© 2009 - Integrated MEMS Research Group  |  Website Design by Milap Dalal